Announcing the Contenders

Once again Campus Safety magazine honors the top police chiefs and security directors of our nation’s hospitals, schools and universities in our Campus Safety Director of the Year Award program. Officer pay increases, wise money management and security technology upgrades were just some of the reasons why these 18 professionals were selected as finalists.

Winners will be announced at the Campus Safety Conference, April 26-28 in Tampa, Fla.

The finalists for the 2008 Director of the Year Award are…

Carl Bittenbender
Bernard Buckner
Phillip Caldwell
Adam Garcia
Jeff Karpovich
Steve Laudenschlager
Carl Loney
Gary Lyle
Alan Lynch
Raymond Osborne
Curtis Ostrander
Gene Palma
Todd Pelazza
Bob Roberts
Roger Sheets Sr.
Annette Spicuzza
Michael Tarter
Dennie Templeton

Congratulations to all of our finalists!

For general information on the Campus Safety Director of the Year Awards program, please visit

About the Author

Robin Hattersley Gray

Robin has been covering the security and campus law enforcement industries since 1998 and is a specialist in school, university and hospital security, public safety and emergency management, as well as emerging technologies and systems integration. She joined CS in 2005 and has authored award-winning editorial on campus law enforcement and security funding, officer recruitment and retention, access control, IP video, network integration, event management, crime trends, the Clery Act, Title IX compliance, sexual assault, dating abuse, emergency communications, incident management software and more. Robin has been featured on national and local media outlets and was formerly associate editor for the trade publication Security Sales & Integration. She obtained her undergraduate degree in history from California State University, Long Beach.

Get Our Newsletters
Campus Safety Online Summit Promo Campus Safety HQ