LMU Forms Sworn Campus Police Force

HARROGATE, Tenn. — Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) has established its own police force and signed a memorandum of understanding with Claiborne County and the Claiborne County Sheriff’s Department.

The force consists of six officers, all of whom will be deputized with the authority to carry a weapon and make arrests, the Knoxville News Sentinel reports. The force’s new chief, Bill Sowder, was sworn in Monday by Sheriff David Ray. Sowder is a 33-year veteran of the Tennessee Highway Patrol and Tennessee Department of Safety.

In the past decade, LMU has increased its population by 200%. The campus includes 35 buildings and 4,550 students.

Read the full story.

Related Articles:

If you appreciated this article and want to receive more valuable industry content like this, click here to sign up for our FREE digital newsletters!

Leading in Turbulent Times: Effective Campus Public Safety Leadership for the 21st Century

This new webcast will discuss how campus public safety leaders can effectively incorporate Clery Act, Title IX, customer service, “helicopter” parents, emergency notification, town-gown relationships, brand management, Greek Life, student recruitment, faculty, and more into their roles and develop the necessary skills to successfully lead their departments. Register today to attend this free webcast!

Get Our Newsletters
Campus Safety Conference promo