Fla. Law Requires Universities to Report Child Sex Abuse

In the wake of the Penn State scandal, the state of Florida has issued a new sexual abuse reporting law that will hold universities and individuals financially and criminally responsible for failing to report suspected abuse.

Colleges and universities that “knowingly and willfully” fail to report known or suspected child abuse or prevent another person from exposing it will face a $1 million for each failure, reports ABC News.

The law, which took effect Oct. 1, requires those who suspect abuse to call a centralized hotline run by the Florida Department of Children and Families. Failure to comply will result in third-degree felony charges and a $5,000 fine.

Read the full story.

Related Articles:

 

Get Our Newsletters
Campus Safety Online Summit Promo Campus Safety HQ