DOE Awards $33M Safe School Grants


More than $32.8 million in grants have been awarded to 18 states and the District of Columbia as part of a joint effort by the U.S. Departments of Education, Health and Human Services, and Justice to support schools in creating safer and healthier learning environments.

The highly competitive Safe Schools/Healthy Students Initiative attracted 422 grant applications nationally. Under the initiative, school districts, in partnership with local public mental-health agencies, law-enforcement and juvenile justice entities, must implement a comprehensive, community-wide plan that focuses on the following elements:

  • Safe school environments and violence prevention activities
  • Alcohol, tobacco and other drug prevention activities
  • Student behavioral, social and emotional supports
  • Mental-health services
  • Early childhood social and emotional learning programs.

2009 Safe Schools/Healthy Students grantees are listed below:

  • California
    Corning Union High School District
    Corning, CA

    El Rancho Unified School District
    Pico Rivera, CA

    Escondido Union School District
    Escondido, CA

    Nevada County Superintendent of Schools
    Nevada City, CA

    Willits Unified School District
    Willitis, CA

    Yolo County Office of Education
    Woodland, CA

  • District of ColumbiaWashington Latin Public Charter School
    Washington, DC
  • Florida
    Madison County School District
    Madison, FL
  • Georgia
    Rockdale County Public Schools
    Conyers, GA
  • Indiana
    Perry Central Community School Corporation
    Leopold, IN
  • Illinois
    Alton Community Unit School District #11
    Alton, IL

    Wabash Community Unit School District #348
    Mt. Carmel, IL

  • Iowa
    Marshalltown Community School District
    Marshalltown, IA
  • Kentucky
    Ashland Independent School District
    Ashland, KY
  • Louisiana
    Recovery School District – LDE
    New Orleans, LA
  • Massachusetts
    Hampden-Wilbraham Regional School District
    Wilbraham, MA
  • Mississippi
    Vicksburg Warren School District
    Vicksburg, MS
  • Montana
    Helena School District One
    Helena, MT
  • New Jersey
    Trenton Public Schools
    Trenton, NJ
  • New York
    Broome-Delaware-Tioga Board of Cooperative Services (BOCES)
    Binghamton, NY

    Oneida-Herkimer-Madison Board of Cooperative Services (BOCES)
    New Hartford, NY

    Sodus Central School District
    Sodus, NY

    Union Springs Central School District
    Union Springs, NY

  • North Carolina
    Burke County Public Schools
    Morganton, NC
  • Ohio
    Wood County Educational Services Center
    Bowling Green, OH
  • South Carolina
    Kershaw County School District
    Camden, SC

    Saluda County School District
    Saluda, SC

  • Texas
    Mission Consolidated Independent School District
    Mission, TX
  • Virginia
    Albemarle County Public Schools
    Charlottesville, VA

To read the entire July 10 press release, click here.

If you appreciated this article and want to receive more valuable industry content like this, click here to sign up for our FREE digital newsletters!

Leading in Turbulent Times: Effective Campus Public Safety Leadership for the 21st Century

This new webcast will discuss how campus public safety leaders can effectively incorporate Clery Act, Title IX, customer service, “helicopter” parents, emergency notification, town-gown relationships, brand management, Greek Life, student recruitment, faculty, and more into their roles and develop the necessary skills to successfully lead their departments. Register today to attend this free webcast!

Get Our Newsletters
Campus Safety Conference promo