9 Towns Awarded School Safety Grants

BRANDON, S.D. — The South Dakota Department of Transportation awarded nine communities Safe Routes to School grants, which pay for infrastructure, programs to encourage kids to walk to school and safety campaigns.

The largest award of $206,000 went to Centerville, the Argus Leader reports. The city will use the funds for sidewalks, wheelchair-accessible curb ramps, education and incentive items.

Other awards were $75,000 to Brandon; $132,000 to Parkston; $97,000 to Viborg; $23,000 to Ethan; $155,000 to Groton; $161,000 to Worthing; $20,000 to Highmore; and $69,000 to Kyle for Little Wound School.

Read the full story.

Related Articles:

If you appreciated this article and want to receive more valuable industry content like this, click here to sign up for our FREE digital newsletters!

Leading in Turbulent Times: Effective Campus Public Safety Leadership for the 21st Century

This new webcast will discuss how campus public safety leaders can effectively incorporate Clery Act, Title IX, customer service, “helicopter” parents, emergency notification, town-gown relationships, brand management, Greek Life, student recruitment, faculty, and more into their roles and develop the necessary skills to successfully lead their departments. Register today to attend this free webcast!

Get Our Newsletters
Campus Safety Conference promo