Director Of The Year

Top Story

How Miami U Does More With Less

Director of the Year Finalist and Miami University Police Chief John McCandless describes the steps his department took to maintain an appropriate level of service and achieve efficiencies with less resources.

Latest in Director Of The Year

CS' higher ed Director of the Year describes how he attracts quality recruits to his campus police department. By Mike Hardman · December 22, 2014

Dan Dusseau credits his officers and a supportive administration at Northern Virginia Community College for his being named Higher Education Campus Safety Director of the Year. Since he started there in 2010, the college has seen major improvements in safety and security. By Mike Hardman · December 18, 2014

Margaret “Margie” Brine has had a long and varied career at Barnes-Jewish Hospital, but her commitment to her staff and knack for innovation make her a leader worth recognition. Brine is this year’s Campus Safety Hospital Director of the Year. By Chrissy Winske · October 15, 2014

Northern Virginia Community College Police Chief Daniel Dusseau wins the education category, and Barnes-Jewish Hospital Director of Public Safety Margie Brine wins the healthcare category. By CS Staff · August 27, 2014

Director of the Year finalist Margie Brine describes her unusual career path: from shuttle bus driver to director of public safety at Barnes-Jewish Hospital. By Robin Hattersley Gray · July 15, 2014

Director of the Year Finalist Chris Cromer says providing a career path will keep officers happy and reduce attrition. By Robin Hattersley Gray · July 02, 2014

Here’s how Parkland Health and Hospital System Police Chief and Director of the Year Finalist Kenneth Cheatle recruits officers from a wide variety of backgrounds. By Robin Hattersley Gray · June 11, 2014

Director of the Year finalist Dave Corbin of Newton-Wellesley Hospital describes how he was able to address his campus’ infant security system issues and make it more effective. By Robin Hattersley Gray · May 23, 2014

Director of the Year finalist Drew Neckar of the Mayo Clinic describes how his institution revised how it manages patients with behavioral health issues to decrease incidents and increase customer satisfaction. By Robin Hattersley Gray · May 16, 2014

Director of Public Safety and Emergency Management David DeVoss describes how his campus achieved this accreditation. By Robin Hattersley Gray · May 06, 2014