Campus Safety Announces Director of the Year Winners

Directors from Claremont University Consortium, Rock Hill Schools (S.C.) and UNC Healthcare come out on top.

Campus Safety magazine (CS) is pleased to announce that Stan Skipworth, Claremont University Consortium’s director of campus safety; Lisa Terry, University of North Carolina Health Care’s director of hospital police and transportation; and Kevin Wren, Rock Hill (S.C.) Schools’ director of campus security systems have been names this year’s Directors of the Year.

Some of the accomplishments that lead to Skipworth winning the top spot in the higher education sector included his legislative activities with the California College and University Police Chiefs Association, as well as his launching of a student assistant program.

Terry started sending all of her department’s security officers to the Homeland Security Center for Domestic Preparedness. Additionally, her department now has the ability to view UNC’s more than 2,200 cameras from multiple sites, which has helped with investigations.

Wren executed more than $5 million in security-driven capital improvements involving structural upgrades for access control, visitor management, video surveillance, digital radios and fences. He also rolled out a district-wide online safety training system that led to an 18 percent decrease in accidents and crimes.

According to CS Executive Editor Robin Hattersley, the competition was tight, which made judging the entries difficult.

“I don’t envy the Director of the Year judges at all,” she says. “All of our finalists have so many excellent qualities and have achieved so much. They are all winners in my opinion. The judges’ jobs were tough.”

Runners up were Brian Gard, who is the manager of safety and health for National Heritage Academies Inc., High Point University Chief/Director, Security and Transportation Jeff Karpovich, University of Central Florida University of Central Florida Jeff Morgan, San Bernardino City Unified School District Chief of Police Joseph Paulino, and University of South Carolina Upstate Director of Public Safety/Chief of Police Klay Peterson.

Campus Safety would like to thank the program judges: Center for Security On Campus Associate Executive Director of Programs at Clery Abigail Boyer, Keene State College Director of Campus Safety Amanda Guthorn, Grand Rapids Public Schools Chief of Staff and Executive Director of Public Safety Larry D. Johnson, Safeguard Risk Solutions CEO and President Gary L. Sigrist Jr., and Hospital Security Consultant Thomas Smith.

CS would also like to thank all of this year’s program participants for their entries, and encourages readers to submit nominations for the 2016 program. Entry forms, instructions and judging criteria can be found at

Full coverage of Skipworth’s, Terry’s and Wren’s accomplishments will be featured in the October and November/December issues of Campus Safety magazine as well as online at

Congratulations to our winners and runners up!

If you appreciated this article and want to receive more valuable industry content like this, click here to sign up for our FREE digital newsletters!

Leading in Turbulent Times: Effective Campus Public Safety Leadership for the 21st Century

This new webcast will discuss how campus public safety leaders can effectively incorporate Clery Act, Title IX, customer service, “helicopter” parents, emergency notification, town-gown relationships, brand management, Greek Life, student recruitment, faculty, and more into their roles and develop the necessary skills to successfully lead their departments. Register today to attend this free webcast!

Get Our Newsletters
Campus Safety Conference promo